Overview of Chitwan

Chitwan   is one of 77 districts of Nepal, and takes up the southwestern corner of Bagmati ProvinceBharatpur, largest city of Nepal after Kathmandu, is its administrative centre. It covers 2,238.39 km2 (864.25 sq mi). In 2011 it had a population of 579,984  people. In 2021 it had a population of 722,168 ( people.Bharatpur is the commercial and service centre of South Central Nepal and a major destination for higher education, health care and transportation in the region. Chitwan lies in the Terai region of Nepal. It is in the drainage basin of the Gandaki River and is roughly triangular, taking that river as its meandering northwestern border, and a modest watershed border, with India, as the basis of its southern limit. Local government: Bharatpur Metropolitan,Rapti Municipality,Ratnanagar Municipality, Kalika Municipality, Madi Municipality, Ikshyakamana Gaupalika.